2015 Performance in Aviation Safety Awards
+44 (0)1276 855 412
Aviation News

Latest News

2015 Performance in Aviation Safety Awards – Finalists Announced

Performance in Aviation Safety AwardsBaines Simmons launched the 2015 Performance in Aviation Safety Awards to recognise the efforts, hard work and success of individuals, teams and organisations that were achieving performance in the field of aviation safety.
Entries were invited to show how individuals, teams and organisations have succeeded in initiating, motivating, driving and securing the strategic, commercial and operational benefits of an organisational approach to safety performance.

More than 20 quality entries were received from all sectors of industry and from around the world, with the following 11 organisations going through to the finalist stage.

Cobham Aviation Services (Australia)
Nominated by: Chris McKie, VP Safety, Risk & Environment

TAP Maintenance & Engineering, Portugal
Nominated by: Jorge Leite, VP Quality & Safety

London City Airport
Nominated by: Harry Harrad, Airside Safety & Compliance Manager

Nominated by: David Taylor, Head of Safety & Compliance

Qantas Engineering, Australia
Nominated by: David Mangan, Deputy Manager, Quality & Safety

KLM UK Engineering
Nominated by: Alex Segens, Safety & Compliance Manager

Air Greenland
Nominated by: Sigurd Schjott, Director of Safety

Marshall Aerospace and Defence Group
Nominated by: Gillian Walton, Head of Occupational Safety & Environment

Thomas Cook Airlines – Group Maintenance Organisation
Nominated by: Rich O’Mara, AMOS Project Leader

RAF Gibraltar
Nominated by: Station Commander Wing Commander Greg Smith and Flight Lieutenant Avril Webb

RAF Marham
Nominated by: Squadron Leader Tim Casey and Wing Commander Andrew Fell

The awards will be judged by a prestigious panel of judges who have been selected for their experience, insight and practical experience of safety management at the highest levels.

  • Air Vice-Marshal Paul Atherton OBE RAF, Director, Military Aviation Authority (MAA)
  • Simon Roberts, UK Representative, Safety Management International Collaboration Group (SMICG) and SMS Programme Lead, UK CAA
  • Simon McNamara, Director General, European Regional Airlines Association
  • Dai Whittingham, Chair of UK Flight Safety Committee (FSC)
  • Bob Simmons, Director, Baines Simmons

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on the first evening of this year’s Fourth European Aviation Safety Symposium at the London Heathrow Marriott Hotel, which takes place on 3rd – 4th November 2015.

For further information, please contact: