EMAR 21 for Military Airworthiness Authority Staff

TR113 | 3 days

A European Defence Agency (EDA) study showed that the benefits of developing a common approach to type-certification of military aircraft can act as a key enabler for future collaborative activities and would offer tangible savings in terms of reduced development time, initial procurement costs and support more efficient collaborative capability.

A key enabler is mutual respect and recognition between Authorities. That is the intent of the EMAD-R, and the more purely the EMARs are adopted the less bureaucratic the EMAD-R process becomes. However, EMAD-R also relies on how each Authority develops and nurtures its competence, capability, capacity and consistency.

In-Company Training

Please Enquire

Delivered exclusively for your company

How will this course benefit me?

Specifically focused on EMAR 21, this course will explore the role of the Military Airworthiness Authority (MAA) as a key enabler to build a nations industrial capability and ensuring that operational needs are expedited in the most cost-effective manner possible.

Key areas of focus

  • EMAR21 Section A requirements and the Airworthiness Codes it relies upon
  • EMAR 21 Section B requirement, focusing on:
    • Competence – i.e. individual subject matter expertise
    • Capacity – i.e. number of MAA staff to support industry
    • Capability – i.e. an MAA organisational attribute
    • Consistency – i.e. the procedures the MAA would need
  • When any of the above are not defined in Section B, the course will interactively explore what will be needed.
  • Identifying useful and relevant EASA sources of information


Is this course right for me?

This is a Practitioner level course aimed at MAA staff, specifically those involved in the following:

  • Design Organisation Approvals
  • Type Certification (and changes to the Type Certificate/Type Design)
  • Permit to Fly and Military Flight Test Permit
  • Production Organisation Approvals
  • Military TSO approvals


This course would also benefit:

  • Part 21 Compliance Auditors
  • Design and Production post holders who liaise with an MAA



Although there are no prerequisites for this course, a thorough knowledge of the detail in EMAR 21
Section A would be a distinct advantage.

Course details

Course format: The course will follow the concept of facilitation as opposed to instruction. It is a
balanced mix of PowerPoint Presentations and challenging interactive exercises.
Course level: Practitioner Level Training (P) is suitable for those who have worked in the subject for
some time, are familiar with core terminologies and concepts and are looking to develop or update
their level of knowledge and practical understanding.
Assessment process: No formal assessment. Formative feedback is provided by the facilitator.
Course size: 16 persons maximum at our Aviation Safety Academy or on-site at your facility. For
virtual courses, the preferred course size is 9 persons (to manage the interaction required).

Frequently asked questions

Who should be the Military Type Certificate Holder?

The EASA intent is that there is only one TCH, being the design organisation with all the type design data. EMAR21.A.14(c) allows a governments organisation to be the TCH, but each of these would then need to contract (refer 21.A.2) that design organisation to help them fulfil the TCH obligations of 21.A.44.

Do we need to use the STC concept?

No, some prefer to keep the TCH updated, but this could (a) create monopolies, (b) reduce the ability of buy or sell previously certified modifications/repairs.

Do we need to use MTSO concept?

No, some authorities prefer not to, but it does reduce the overall certification burden, especially for commodity items used on multiple platforms (e.g. g-suits, survival vests, chaff & flare dispensers, radios, etc).