Qualification Considerations for Parts & Appliances in Part 21

TR24M29 | 1 day

In Part 21 (EASA and UK), Subparts B, D, E and M deal with type certification of products (i.e. aircraft, engines and propellers) and any changes to them after initial certification. The emphasis is on the product itself, rather than the Parts and Appliances which make up the product. Parts and Appliances are specifically addressed in Part 21 Subpart K, O and Q. Subpart O (and its organisational approval requirements) are explored in our TR24M09, leaving this course to explore the compliance expectations of Part 21 Subpart K and Q.

Upcoming Training

22 Aug - 22 Aug 2024

Virtual Classroom

£540.00 (excl. VAT)

09 Dec - 09 Dec 2024

Virtual Classroom

£540.00 (excl. VAT)

In-Company Training

Please Enquire

Delivered exclusively for your company

How will this course benefit me?
Only TSO parts/appliances can be certified via Part 21 Subpart O. For all other parts/appliances, the design organisations need to do their own qualification activities. This course examines the obligations in Part 21 Subpart K and Q, and is extended to include an overview of the Environmental Qualification required of RTCA/DO-160. Attending this course will assist design organisations with managing their type certification activities across the system hierarchy as well as exploring the considerations needed for their chosen part marking (Part 21 Subpart Q) approach across the supply chain.

Key areas of focus
This course takes a practical approach to providing the necessary insight to ensure the intelligent adoption of the regulatory intent behind the qualification of Parts and Appliances. It focusses on:

• The content, intent and practical application of Part 21 Subpart K. This is extended to also address Non-Installed Equipment as well as the FAA’s PMA approach.
• Understanding the role of RTCA/DO-160 in support of Part 21 Subpart K and the design codes (e.g. CS-25 references are provided)
• Familiarisation with the content and intent of 21 Subpart Q. This is extended to also explore what else might need consideration before implementing a Parts numbering strategy.

Note: When it comes to the qualification of Parts, the scope of this 1 day course does not extend to the qualification of Software (e.g. refer RTCA-DO-178) and Complex Electronic Hardware (e.g. see RTCA/DO-154), both of which are classified as Parts in potential need of a Form 1; the latter is explored in the course.

Is this course right for me?
This practitioner level course is aimed at all Design Organisations (i.e. both Design Approval Holders as well as their sub-contracting suppliers of Parts and Appliances).

Completing this course will ensure you understand the systems, processes and competence you need to fulfil these obligations, whilst considering the commercial implications throughout. At the end of this course you will:

• Be familiar with the content and intent of Part 21 Subpart K, be able to describe the intent of the FAA PMA approach, and understand what is required to control the design of equipment.
• Understand the origin, intent and approach or ETCA/DO-160, its layout and logic, as well a brief overview of the approach to each of the 22 qualification requirements therein.
• Understand the applicable requirements in Part 21 Subpart Q as well as gain a perspective of what else might need consideration before implementing a Parts numbering strategy including: Part revisions, Interchangeability, Supplier Part numbers, NATO Stock Numbers & CAGE Codes, Renumbering of supplier parts, and Implications on GFE/CFE parts, Implications on assemblies if parts change.

A prerequisite for the course is a fair level of understanding of:
• The layout and logic of Part 21, and
• The Type Certification Requirements of Part 21 Subpart B, D and E
• The 21.A.239 Design Management System

Course Details

Course format: This course is a balanced mix of group discussions, flipchart work and PowerPoint presentations. It can be provided in person or remotely via MS Teams.
Course level: Practitioner Level Training (P) is suitable for those who have worked in the subject for some time, are familiar with core terminologies and concepts and are looking to develop or update their level of knowledge and practical understanding.
Assessment process: No formal assessment. Formative feedback is provided by the facilitator.
Course size: 16 persons maximum at our Aviation Safety Academy or on-site at your facility.

Frequently asked questions

What is Design Approval Holder?

It is the approved Design organization who is the holder of a type-certificate, restricted type-certificate, supplemental type-certificate, TSO authorisation, approval of a change to type-certificate or approval of a repair design.

Is this course suitable for a small to medium size organisation?

Yes, we look at the intent of the requirements and allow you to explore how to best apply the principles to the size of your organisation.

I work in the defence sector; is this suitable for me?

Yes, if following the EASA principles. However, many military organisations/authorities prefer MIL-STD-810 to RTCA/DO-160.

Is this course suitable for National Aviation Authority surveyors (including Military Airworthiness Authorities adopting EMAR21)?

Yes, these would benefit from understanding the practical implications of the Part 21obligations. For those adopting EMAR21, this civil course will demonstrate the latest EASA intent, noting that EMAR21 lags Part 21 by up to 3 years).